The Museum of the Kroměříž Region is located in house no. 38 on the Great Square. It was originally the most exhibited house in the city with Renaissance vaults on the ground floor and first floor and with a Renaissance entrance portal. In 1609, it was built on the site of two houses with a rich history by Cardinal Francis of Dietrichstein. In the years 1636 – 1647, the house was the seat of the Jesuit college, after the Jesuits left Kroměříž to Uherské Hradiště, it again became a bishop’s property. Today, the house is the seat of the Museum of the Kroměříž Region, two large permanent exhibitions are installed in its premises – the Memorial of Max Švabinský, a famous Kroměříž native, and the archeological-natural science exposition – Nature and Man.
There are also exhibition spaces in the building, where shorter-term exhibitions take place, namely the extensive Gallery in the arcade, the Small Gallery and the Portal Exhibition Hall. There is also a Conference Hall, where scientific conferences, lectures and concerts take place, and the Professional Library and Study Room, which consists of 35,000 volumes of professional publications, magazines, proceedings and other publications.
Other objects of the museum include the Chropyně chateau, Rymice u Holešova and the Windmill in Velké Těšany.